On the “Life Changing Magic of not giving a f**k”

A few weeks ago  I was letting you know, that I was trying to not giving a fuck and stop being afraid.

I also promised to let you know, how I am trying to achieve that. It is called: The life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k: how to stop spending time you don’t have doing things you don’t want to do with people you don’t like by Sarah Knight. But I feel like I should be stepping back and explain myself first.

I give too many fucks. If you know me a little bit, you know that I care. About everyone and everything and all the time. There have been moments where my friends came up to me, saying: Frauke you have an opinion on everything, how do you feel about [blank]. And to be honest, I did have an opinion, and if not, give me 15 minutes, a laptop and free Wifi and we can make that happen. The problem was, that I wasn’t very happy with this anymore. I was tired and sad, but mainly angry all the time. To stop feeling that way, I just decided to cope with it differently, but that does not work. So instead of expressing how many fucks I actually was giving, I bottled them up inside and still gave them. But now in secret. Like a really sad spy.

So you see this is really not working. But don’t worry, there is a book for that. I discovered in recent years that the publishing industry is really looking out for us (and their bank accounts) by publishing self-help books in horrendous amounts every year. So now we are actually talking about this book:

fullsizeoutput_9de

In this beautiful self-help book, the author Sarah Knight explains her self approved and tested way of giving less fucks. It is based on a similar system of The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up (which Knight has read herself, and I now too) but instead of cleaning up your husband’s sock drawer, you are clearing out your fuck drawer. And, yes this book is filled with little wordplays around the word fuck.
In the end you should be able to create a few lists that consists of all the things, people and family members that you may or may not give a fuck about. And then you work with it.

I firmly believe that everyone should read this book (this is why I gave the book immediately to my friend). Even if you think you give the perfect amount of fucks, you should read it anyways, because in the end you just might have read a funny book. Because that is it, it is a really good and funny book.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

