On being an adult

I turned 25 years old this year, which in the world of German birthday traditions means that I am in fact old.

dscn0395
Just keep walking!

Being unmarried and turning 25 means that it is finally time for friends and family to make fun of you and also get really drunk. Your friends make you a door decoration out of little bottles or cigarette boxes, so that everyone knows. It sounds weird, but is actually great fun and a brilliant party!

Also now that I am 25 it means that I have to insure myself now and that is bloody expensive, let me tell you. I am also done with being a student. Not just mentally but like actually. I finished my degree. I am officially done. I mean, it only took me like 20 years.

The upcoming year will be the first one in which I do not have to go to classes and maybe will actually get paid for my work, not just graded. It will be the year I graduate and move to a new place. It will hopefully be the year I am being a full-grown, self-sufficient adult, having a real job and pay my own bills. Maybe I will get a dog, maybe I will go hiking, maybe I will get drunk for 365 days straight. Who knows. I surely don’t.

This is the title of my 2017: I don’t know! This is the first time in my life when I won’t have a bulletproof plan of where I am going and what I am going to do in the next months.

When I was a child I was more interested in whether or not there will be mashed potatoes for lunch (I like making patterns in it with my fork). Then kindergarten and school started, and suddenly years later, here we are.

I have focused 20 years of my life on education, grades and homework. All was planned out for me: Which classes to take, where to go home to, what to write and do next year. Now that I am graduating this is being taking away from me. It was always kind of a security blanket, and now I don’t have any experiences in this plan-free lifestyle.

And this is bloody scary.

I don’t know what to do. I know what I should be doing: Find a job, go out more, pay my bills. But there are also things I want to do. I want to enjoy this year, take a deep breath. Go to Art Galleries, have picnics by myself, and read all the books. Because this is the first time I can’t hide behind my responsibilities, and the plans made by others.

I have to see what this new lifestyle of not having a plan has to offer for me. Run around, get tipsy with my friends, go on a road trip with my sister and maybe, from time to time, make mashed potatoes for lunch. For the old times sakes.

In the end, this is all I can do, since nobody has given me a manual for this new year, I might as well make my own. And the first rule is, there is no plan. So sit back, munch away on the popcorn and enjoy the ride. Who knows where we will end up.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

